My Quest Has Been Fulfilled

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
My typical writing pose.

 

When I started writing about eleven years ago, I used to lie to myself and say I was just doing it for myself. But in the back of my mind I knew I wanted more. I wanted to be published. Badly. And I wanted to be “officially” published. As in see my book(s) in a bookstore. Or at Target. Or the airport.

And to do that, I knew I had to write a damn good story, good enough to get people to want to work with me, to take a chance with me (on me?) and help bring my stories to the world. And the first step to that was getting an literary agent.

As readers to this blog know, my dream of being published first came true when I was selected as a finalist in the SCBWI Undiscovered Voices 2016 anthology and the first chapter of my book Requiem was published. And let me tell you, being published there opened a whole lotta doors I’d never even imagined would open. All of a sudden, agents were contacting me with requests to read the entire book!

Well, long story short, I ended up signing with one of those agents; the lovely Hannah Sheppard from the DHH Literary Agency in London. And the story of how we met and bonded over snow blizzards and speech team competitions is now up over at the Undiscovered Voices blog. Enjoy!

Author: Patti Buff

American living in rural Germany. I read, I write, I am.

2 thoughts on “My Quest Has Been Fulfilled”

Leave a Reply

