Undiscovered Voices 2016 Finalist

Wednesday, January 13, 2016. This day will go down as the day my dreams of becoming a real writer, a published writer came true.

UV2016_front-coverToday the short list, the finalists were announced for the newest Undiscovered Voices anthology and I’m so thrilled and honored that REQUIEM was among the chosen.

Look at that cover. Isn’t it pretty? How did the wonderful organizers over at SCBWI British Isles and Working Partners know that blue is my color? If you’re interested in reading the anthology here’s the download link.

I want to say a huge thank you to everyone who has helped me, carried me, and even forced me to keep writing when I couldn’t do it myself. They say it takes a community to raise a child, well it also takes a community to write a book. And lots of chocolate. Tons of chocolate, preferably dark.

A special thank you to all the volunteers over at SCBWI British Isles and Working Partners, especially Sara Grant and Sara O’Conner who brainstormed this competition ten years ago as a way to help unpublished writers get discovered and published. Since then 32 authors and illustrators have published over 120 books worldwide. Talk about a legacy!

So – what’s next? On February 25 I fly to London for the official launch party. This invite-only event will be attended by the best and sharpest agents and editors the UK has to offer. Comparing it to a shark’s fest isn’t too much of an exaggeration from what I’ve heard. But no matter how nervous I may be, I will also feel right at home surrounded by people who are as passionate about children’s books as I am.

 

Postscript: The first song I heard after learning I won was Lose Yourself by Eminem. Fate? I think so.

Author: Patti Buff

American living in rural Germany. I read, I write, I am.

3 thoughts on “Undiscovered Voices 2016 Finalist”

Leave a Reply

